This documentation was written to describe the 1.7.x series of Apache™ Subversion®. If you are running a different version of Subversion, you are strongly encouraged to visit and instead consult the version of this documentation appropriate for your version of Subversion.


svn revert — Undo all local edits.


svn revert PATH...


Reverts any local changes to a file or directory and resolves any conflicted states. svn revert will revert not only the contents of an item in your working copy, but also any property changes. Finally, you can use it to undo any scheduling operations that you may have performed (e.g., files scheduled for addition or deletion can be unscheduled).



Discard changes to a file:

$ svn revert foo.c
Reverted foo.c

If you want to revert a whole directory of files, use the --depth=infinity option:

$ svn revert --depth=infinity .
Reverted newdir/afile
Reverted foo.c
Reverted bar.txt

Lastly, you can undo any scheduling operations:

$ svn add mistake.txt whoops
A         mistake.txt
A         whoops
A         whoops/oopsie.c

$ svn revert mistake.txt whoops
Reverted mistake.txt
Reverted whoops

$ svn status
?       mistake.txt
?       whoops
[Warning] Warning

svn revert is inherently dangerous, since its entire purpose is to throw away data—namely, your uncommitted changes. Once you've reverted, Subversion provides no way to get back those uncommitted changes.

If you provide no targets to svn revert, it will do nothing. To protect you from accidentally losing changes in your working copy, svn revert requires you to explicitly provide at least one target.